How You can Help your Dog to Get Relief from Osteoarthritis

It wasn’t easy to accept, but I needed to deal with the news that my dearest canine friend Lima was suffering from Osteoarthritis. I was shocked to death, but then the vet explained me, she can still fight with this pain and get well soon to walk at ease.

How I knew she has Osteoarthritis

One day after office when I reached home, she didn’t come and wish me jumping as she usually used to do. Initially I thought she might be sick or may be occupied with her favourite chews, but then I looked at her helpless face and could understand she is having difficulties in moving. I thought of observing her for a few days. In next few days, I could notice that she is not able to jump into the car or into the stairs. So much so that she was not even able to reach her favourite chair. Gradually she became irritable, nervous and less active. This is when I decided to take her to the local vet for check up.

What is Osteoarthritis

For me, she was still very young. But, the reality was she reached the age of 12 by then. The vet confirmed that she has Osteoarthritis. He explained me how this degenerative disease involves one or more joints in the body of a dog. The vet also added that the dogs in between their middle and old age suffer from this joint pain. The pain generally triggers due to excessive wear in one or more joints.

How to reduce the pain

My question was very direct, “Am I losing my cheerful daughter?”, to which he replied she won’t be perfectly cured but definitely she would lead a better life if the treatment starts immediately. He prescribed Nutramax cosequin for my baby. Thanks to the medicine and the vet obviously, for making my daughter relieved of such a distressed situation.

Leave a Reply

